Dubai International Best Practices Award for Sustainable Development


Dubai, Internationally
23.09.2019 - 25.11.2020

About the Programme

Dubai International Best Practices Award for Sustainable Development in partnership with UN-HABITAT and Dubai Municipality. The Dubai International Best Practices Award for Sustainable Development aims to recognize global innovative practices that have made a positive impact; and continue to improve the quality of people’s life leading to the cities of the future. $1M in prizes to be awarded at Expo 2020 Dubai. About the award. Established in 1995—under the directive of the late Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum during the United Nations International Conference in Dubai—as an outcome of the Dubai Declaration. This declaration created the international concept of sharing Best Practices for the accelerated development of the human settlements sector. Transformative. Global. Tangible. Now reaching its 25th year, the award recognises the world’s best practices that demonstrate valuable contributions to sustainable urban development, as a result of effective partnerships between public, private, and civic sectors. Categories 1. Best Practices Award in Urban Regeneration and Public Spaces 2. Best Practices Award in Construction of Sustainable, Innovative and Smart Buildings 3. Best Practices Award in Sustaining Urban Food Systems 4. Best Practices Award in Addressing Climate Change and Reducing Pollution 5. Best Practices Award in Urban Infrastructure Planning and Management

About You

The award is open to all sectors: national and regional governments, local authorities and their associations, non-governmental organizations, multilateral agencies, community based organizations, research and academic institutions, public and private foundations, media entities and individuals.

About Us

UN-Habitat supports countries to implement the urban dimensions of the sustainable development agenda to make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable. We focus on four main domains of change: Reduced spatial inequality and poverty in communities across the urban-rural continuum; enhanced shared prosperity for cities and regions; strengthened climate action and improved urban environment; and effective urban crises prevention and response.